Author Topic: Mackerel Sujime  (Read 1905 times)

Offline Kalo

• Sanddab
Mackerel Sujime
« on: September 25, 2015, 03:52 PM »
I graduated from White Croaker in Avila (didn't keep any) to some of these Pacific Mackerel in Morro Bay.   I only kept one and wanted to try something with it. Decided to do Japanese style Mackerel Sujime.  The fillet (leave pin bones in until after) is cured with salt for an hour or two then dropped in a Rice Vinegar, Mirin, Sugar, Salt bath for a few hours.  Result is quite tasty.   Today I was reading a bit more about Mackerel and it seems to be one of the healthier fish with reasonably low mercury accumulation.   

2015 Hobie Outback, Malone trailer

Offline Nakatack

• Tree Rockfish
Re: Mackerel Sujime
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 08:07 PM »
Now your talking!
I have had Saba in restaurants and I love it
PM me the recipe if you don't mine?
Where in MB did you catch mackerel?
There is no pleasure in having nothing to do; the fun is having lots to do and not doing it.

Offline Kalo

• Sanddab
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 09:53 PM »