Author Topic: New to group  (Read 1948 times)

Offline GoBruins

• Sheephead
  • Outdoors > Indoors
New to group
« on: June 22, 2016, 04:51 PM »
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to kayak fishing (about 1 year), and I've done most of my fishing in So Cal.

I'd like to try some rockfishing near San Simeon. I was looking at San Simeon Campground, but it looks a tad crowded. Are there other campsites that are somewhat nearby?

Thanks in advance,

Gianni

CamoAndAmmo .at. Outlook.com

Offline GoBruins

• Sheephead
  • Outdoors > Indoors
Re: New to group
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2016, 04:55 PM »
As an aside, is there a trick to catching the Vermillion Rockfish? YouTube videos seem to suggest that catching the various brown rockfish is pretty common, but I'm hoping to catch a Vermillion.

Offline Imhooked

• Sanddab
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2016, 07:21 PM »
I have found them between 100 and 200 feet while on charter. I'm pretty new to fishing from a kayak though so I can't say for sure about any tricks or tips. Welcome to the group and hope to see you out there.
-Milton

Offline Ryanimpreza

• Lingcod
  • Pro kayak fishing / realistic wraps prostaff
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2016, 07:45 PM »
I have found them between 100 and 200 feet while on charter. I'm pretty new to fishing from a kayak though so I can't say for sure about any tricks or tips. Welcome to the group and hope to see you out there.
ya that's correct but recently we have been landing them shallow, like 45-80 ft. The trick is get out there and drop a line, if you find you are not getting what you want then just keep moving till you find what you are looking for. You will get a feel for where there are at quick.
2015 red hobie outback
Instagram.........ryanimpreza
3rd place 2015 AOTY
2nd place 2016 AOTY

Offline lopezcador

• Yellow Eye
    • Lopezcador
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2016, 10:09 PM »
So I am assuming you are a UCLA grad. ????
Estero bay 2015- 10th place 2- fish cat.   Estero bay - 2016 1st place - cabby cat.